Matters can be deleted from mattero, however all Documents and Tasks associated with the Matter will be deleted as well.
Once a Matter is deleted it cannot be reinstated.
Please note, if your organisation has configured Security Roles, you must have the "Delete Matters and Contacts" permission configured.
(View the Create, Assign, and Delete Security Roles article for more information.)
Further, you cannot delete a Matter if there are Trust records or Invoices associated with the Matter.
Deleting a Matter
To delete a Matter:
- Select the Matter's Details tab, then select Edit.
- Select the Delete button in the bottom-left corner of the screen.
- If a Matter has any associated Trust records or Invoices, it cannot be deleted; a notification will appear with links to the relevant items.
Select these links to view these items and remove them from the Matter, or select OK to exit the notification and cancel the deletion.
(View the Move Trust Funds between Matters and Delete Invoices articles for more information on these processes.)
- If there are no Trust records or Invoices associated with the Matter, a confirmation window will appear with a list of links to all Documents, Cost Records, and Tasks on the Matter.
Please note, these items will be deleted when the Matter is deleted; it is recommended you review all items before deletion, and save backups or move items to a different Matter as needed.
To delete the Matter, enter its title exactly as it appears in the message (including any punctuation or capitalisation) and select Delete.
Remove Matter, Edit Matter, Finish Matter, Undo Matter, End Matter