If a Trust transaction is recorded incorrectly, it cannot be edited. Instead, the only way to correct the error is to cancel the incorrect entry and create a new Trust record.
Please note, if a Trust transaction is cancelled, this cannot be undone.
Further, if a single Trust Journal is cancelled, its corresponding Trust Journal will also be cancelled. (View the Create a Trust Journal article for more information.)
Cancelling a Trust Record
To cancel a Trust Record:
- Select the Trust section of a Matter, or select the Trust icon in the sidebar.
- Select the Actions menu for a Receipt, Payment or Journal, then select Cancel Receipt/Payment/Journal.
- A confirmation window will open; enter a Cancellation Reason, then select Yes.
Please note, cancelling a Trust Record creates a reversal transaction in your Trust Ledger. The Cancellation Reason will be used as the Description in the reversal transaction.
Please note, once a Trust Record is cancelled it will also display in a new colour.
Cancelled, Delete, Remove, Undo, Trust Accounting